US Church Regulations Regarding Fasting and Abstinence during Lent

Abstinence from meat (beast or fowl) is to be observed by all Catholics fourteen years and older on Ash Wednesday and on all Fridays of Lent. This obligation prohibits the eating of meat, but not eggs, milk products or condiments of any kind, even though made from animal fat. The law of fasting on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday applies to all Catholics from age 18 through age 59. When fasting, a person is permitted to eat one full meal, as well as two smaller meals that together are not equal to a full meal. Those who are ill or pregnant may be dispensed from their obligation.